Beginning with an initiative from each member to experiment with new sounds and push each of their individual musical abilities, Sebastian Ramos and Greg Chipkin recorded 3 instrumental demos under the name Body Thief, and by late 2013, had completed their lineup in with the addition of Walt Umana on Bass and Daniel Hawkins on vocals. The band began to play around Maryland + D.C., and branched into other Mid Atlantic states as well. By winter of 2014, the band entered the studio with producer, Paul Leavitt, to record their debut album, Speak in Hibernation. Musically, Body Thief pairs the post-rock and post-hardcore tendencies of many of their greatest hometown influences with a well-developed musicianship and an ear for sprawling melodies and intense crescendos. On record, Hawkins’ vocals weave throughout textured instrumentals of Chipkin, Umana, and Ramos effortlessly; the highly complicated nature of the music itself doesn’t detract from its accessibility, and instead functions to bring the listener deeper into the captivating melodies and rhythms at play. Since the release of “Speak In Hibernation”, the band has added Andres Soto on guitar, as well as shared the stage alongside various artists, such as Emarosa, Hail The Sun, Tilian Pearson, and more. In summer of 2018, the band entered the studio to record their next album with Will Beasley. With plans to tour the US following its release, Body Thief’s second album, “Travel Glow”, was released digitally on March 1st, 2019.